Why Do I Write?

Why do I write is a great question if I were writing monthly, weekly, or daily.  The only time I write now is when work requires me to.  I feel like I traded my passion for security.  I can record my past tense version, or I can state some hopeful outcomes.  Even using the word “outcome” makes me feel like I am being to professional.

I want to write to silence the voices in my head.  My thoughts scream for a release in a creative way.  Twenty years ago, I was on my way to becoming the next Toni Morrison, Maya Angelou or Nikki Giovanni.  I made time to write the same way I made time to workout.  It is amazing how 20 years have passed and I am trying my best to push restart for both writing and working out.

I did exactly what I promised myself I would not do.  Life did have ripple affects that changed the course of this floating leaf. Some of these recent rocks smashing into life’s lake have made me crave to release my thoughts. I have to at least give myself a fair shot at writing again.  I have to see if I am capable of creating story lines from facts and imagination or retailing life’s opinion and experiences in away that will turn down the volume and increase that feeling of completion.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Do I Write?

  1. You are more than capable. You have already started. You’ve taken the first step.
    The rest will follow.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment